Introducing … Nina Lee Patterns!

So friends, for those of you who don’t know, I’ve got some rather exciting news … I’m super thrilled to introduce you to ‘Nina Lee’ – and my very first range of sewing patterns! I’ve started my own little business, and we’ve launched with three patterns: a pair of trousers, a dress and a blouse, each named after an area of London. The aesthetic is my own: pretty, feminine clothing with a nod to current fashion but drawing on a much broader sphere of inspiration. Without further ado, let me introduce the designs:

Nina Lee Portobello Trousers

The Portobello Trousers are wide-legged, high-waisted, with front pleats and back darts, closing with a centre-back zip. Obviously they have pockets 🙂 They work equally well in winter wools or summer wovens and I really cannot tell you how flattering I find these trews – they just make my legs feel so long, almost like those of a normal person.

Nina Lee Portobello Trousers

The Bloomsbury Blouse (pictured up top) is kinda secretly my favourite baby (just don’t tell the others). It was the first pattern of the three that I really developed, and I’ve had more comments (nice ones) from strangers about this top than anything else I’ve ever made. The pattern comes with options for both wide and narrow ruffles, and to add (or not) ruffles at the collar and cuffs. I’m all about the big ruffles, but also pretty much in love with the straight-up Edwardian vibe of the version with narrow ruffles I made for my sister.

Nina Lee Bloomsbury Blouse

Nina Lee Bloomsbury Blouse

And last but not least, the Carnaby Dress. This is a fun little shift with separate skirt pieces that can be colour-blocked, and in-seam front pockets that can also be colour-contrasting. Hey, you can put on contrast sleeves if you want too. Plus, because the front shouldn’t get all the attention, it’s got an exposed zip in the back. Dreamy in denim, or cord, or linen in the summer…

Nina Lee Carnaby Dress

Nina Lee Carnaby Dress

This is a project that’s swallowed up my life with increasing intensity over the past few months, and I’m really happy to be finally sharing it, and hopefully returning to some kind of normality. Certainly this here blog will be from henceforth resuming normal service; I want to make it clear that this enterprise is an entity with a separate existence and for anyone who comes here because you’ve enjoyed the content of this blog – it’s not going to change. I still really want a place to chat about things I’m making, and I still want to make ALL the patterns. I’ve got lined up for you a Simple Sew Trudy dress, a velvet Closet Case Files Nettie dress, a Thread Theory Finlayson sweater, a quilt, a Tilly and the Buttons Cleo, a secret Sew Over It pattern… And those are just the ones I’ve actually done. The Nina Lee site has its own blog, and that’s where I’ll be talking about the patterns, inspiration, hacking, fabric etc. If you want to find out more about any of this, please visit our website: www.ninalee.co.uk, or follow us on Instagram/Twitter/Facebook/Pinterest, @ninaleelondon.

Self-promotion firmly concluded.

Nina x

7 thoughts on “Introducing … Nina Lee Patterns!

  1. So thrilled for you and your new business! Your patterns are gorgeous! So much for me being more frugal this month…I’ll definitely be doing my part to support your venture whilst filling my wardrobe with some fabulous me-made garments. You’re an inspiration. I hope that in a few years time, I can be just as successful with sewing as you. Keep up the fantastic work xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

