Big Vintage Sew-along – in an English country garden…

banner

I was absolutely thrilled to be asked to participate in the Big Vintage Sew-along this year. What a line-up I am lucky enough to be part of! And all for a good cause!

In case you haven’t heard about this, the Big Vintage Sew-along started back in March, runs until October, and sees 20 bloggers featuring vintage makes from a selection of 20 re-released or ‘new-vintage’ patterns. But it’s not just for bloggers; during the sew-along, any pattern purchased from the selection will see a donation go to the Eve Appeal, a charity researching and responding to gynaecological cancers. As if sewing didn’t already give us enough warm and fuzzy feelings… 🙂

It’s been great seeing everyone’s makes so far (#bvsewalong). I chose to make Vogue 9000. Unsurprisingly I wasn’t the only one – check out the gorgeous versions also made by Amy of Almond Rock and Lisa Comfort of Sew Over It. Funnily enough neither of them mentioned a secret urge to dress up as an Agatha Christie heroine (or villainess, I’m not fussy), so I guess that’s just me. The important thing is I feel straight out of The Secret of Chimneys in this one.

Vintage Sewalong V9000-73

Vintage Sewalong V9000-120

Vintage Sewalong V9000-76

Vintage Sewalong V9000-126.jpg

After some serious toile-led alarm (an excess of excess) I ended up cutting a size 12 around the waist graded to a size 8 in the upper bodice, and taking a full 1.5″ out of the bodice length. I also, no surprises here, took a good few inches off the skirt length – I don’t buy into those stats that say we’re all getting taller, because these ’50s women certainly had a height advantage on me!

The actual construction was pleasingly straightforward. Apart from omitting the shoulder pads I stuck to the original instructions; however, if I were to make this again I wouldn’t use facings on the kimono sleeves as (especially in lightweight fabric) these aren’t that keen on staying inside. Bias binding all the way!

Vintage Sewalong V9000-48
Doing my best 1950s heroine impression…

I tried to curl my hair for the photos in an attempt at comprehensive vintage styling, but unfortunately it all went a bit wrong and the end look was rather more gypsy living in a hedge than I’d intended. At least I managed to find some flowers to match the colour accents in my fabric. Which is, in case you hadn’t already guessed, a lovely Liberty lawn – subtly patterned with flowers, tiny deer, horses, swans and owls. A veritable English country garden, and so that’s exactly where I am in these pics. I loved posing in my new dress so much we took photos all over the place… But I can only apologise for the inconsistency of the lighting; English sunsets are so temperamental!

Vintage Sewalong V9000-22

Vintage Sewalong V9000-38

Vintage Sewalong V9000-30

Thanks to McCall Pattern Company for organising this fab Sew-along, and to The Foldline for getting me involved! I do hope you’ve enjoyed the Big Vintage Sew-along so far and perhaps even been inspired to join in! Keep checking out the upcoming blog posts for more inspiration and vintage pattern delight:

Friday 19th August: Charlotte Powell, English Girl at Home

Friday 26th August: Gabby Young, Gabberdashery

Friday 2nd September: Rachel Pinheiro, House of Pinheiro

Friday 9th September: Elena Rose Brown, Randomly Happy

Friday 16th September: Wendy Gardiner, Butterick

Friday 23rd September: Winnie Longhurst, Scruffy Badger Time

Friday 30th September: Rachel Walker, The Foldline

Oh, and whilst you’re here, don’t forget there’s still three days to enter my Rosie dress pattern giveaway! x

8 thoughts on “Big Vintage Sew-along – in an English country garden…

    1. Hurray, a fellow Christie lover! I’d definitely like to make the dress again; originally I was thinking of a contrast bodice with matching skirt and collar so that might be on the cards… I love your version though; so perfect for a winter party! x

      Like

  1. Gorgeous dress, the fabric makes it like and airy and you’ve got the fit perfect. I’ve not used a vintage pattern yet but seeing all these versions makes me want to give it a go.

    Like

Leave a Reply

