Rosie in the Rainforest – and a Sew Over It giveaway!

Sew Over It Rosie Dress-95.jpg

Sew Over It Rosie Dress-56 edit.jpg

Ah, Sew Over It. I frequently feel as though they’re designing patterns specifically for me, and this latest has done nothing to break that particular delusion. The Rosie Dress is a 1950s-inspired summer dress of dreams, perfect for pretending you’re on a Roman Holiday, or helping Miss Marple solve a riddle of a crime (those are the kinds of daydreams I have). It features a fitted, boned and lined bodice and a twirly, girly pleated skirt (that can also be made as a garment in its own right), two strap and two neckline variations. And of course once you’ve exhausted all the featured options, it would also be a marvellous pattern to adapt – you could swap the pleated skirt for a gathered or circle option, play around with contrast fabrics, or make the skirt up in a lined wool for winter. Options: endless.

I was lucky enough to be asked to be a pattern tester again – and if you’re reading this you’re lucky enough to be in with a chance of winning a free copy of the Rosie pattern!

Sew Over It Rosie Dress-19.jpg

These pics were taken on a Sunday family outing to the Barbican Conservatory. Hands up if you had no idea that such a place existed – I certainly didn’t! But it is in fact London’s second-largest hothouse (after Kew), a lush and unexpected oasis in the midst of the famously brutalist estate. I had been determined to find the right backdrop for this gorgeous parrot fabric (a lightweight lawn from SOI), and a tropical combo seemed moreover the perfect little nod to Rio – I’m an Olympics addict 🙂

Sew Over It Rosie Dress-113.jpg

I made an initial attempt at pattern-matching the parrots, but the six bodice pieces of Rosie ultimately defeated me and I’ve ended up sporting the odd headless parrot. Something to be aware of if you’re using a very distinctly patterned fabric. I also made a simple muslin petticoat as the lawn was rather transparent; it gives my dress a fuller skirt than it would naturally have. And one more thing – the tester pattern had straps way too long (now corrected) so I criss-crossed mine over the back – that’s another easy hack right there!

Sew Over It Rosie Dress-101.jpg

Anyway, if you would like to win a copy of the Rosie pattern, all you have to do is leave a comment below! The competition runs until midnight GMT next Sunday, 14 August, and I’ll announce the randomly chosen winner on Monday. Easy peasy, right? And, to boot I’ll also enter anyone who follows my blog (either via WordPress or Bloglovin) over the next week into the draw, so should you be so keen as to want a double entry you can boost your chances! Good luck and good sewjo!

Sew Over It Rosie Dress-136.jpg

Oh, and in the meantime stay tuned for this Friday, which will see the reveal of my Butterick Big Vintage Sewalong make!

x

46 thoughts on “Rosie in the Rainforest – and a Sew Over It giveaway!

  1. That’s a lovely dress! Do you find boning difficult? I love this pattern, but I’ve never used boning, so I’m a little hesitant about trying it 😬

    Like

    1. Boning is far less intimidating than it sounds 🙂 This pattern explains in detail how to insert it using one method, but there are plenty of others – you can even buy boning that’s attached to ribbon so you don’t have to sew through the boning, or you can make casing for it using tape and then just feed the boning in. Definitely nothing to be worried about 🙂 x

      Like

  2. Oh I love this fabric, I brought my parakeet fabric a few months ago but I haven’t found the right pattern for it yet. It looks lovely as the Rosie dress though I love the colours. x

    Like

  3. You’re right, that was the perfect backdrop for this fabric, and now I want to go explore this place too! I’d love to try the dress as well, your version is beautiful.

    Like

  4. How beautiful! As it happens I have never tried one of SOI patterns so far, although I was always curious about them. I would love to make this one, for sure!

    Like

  5. I’m pretty sure my Mum, who is a gardening addict, has never hear of the Barbican Conservatory. I’ll have to mention it to her. A gorgeous make btw!

    Like

  6. Your dress looks lovely in the parrot fabric, I probably wouldn’t have chosen the fabric myself but I would after seeing your dress.

    Like

  7. Such a pretty Rosie! I love the parrots – and what a great backdrop for your photos! 🙂

    I know what you mean about Sew Over It patterns and feeling like they are designing just for you! I adore everything they come out with!

    Like

  8. Beautiful dress, the fabric is gorgeous and really suits the dress, I’ve seen a couple versions of the dress but did not realise it was boned and lined. Is our summer long enough to make one before it’s over?

    Like

  9. Uh oh! I need to make this! Bit tricky for a pregnant lady but this post has motivated me to make some nice dresses for me post baby (instead of sewing kids clothes). Love the parrot fabric!

    Like

  10. O I love your version! The sweetheart neckline and cross over straps are gorgeous and I am so impressed with your parrot matching! I already have the pattern so please don’t count me in for the giveaway, just wanted to say how lovely it is!

    Like

  11. The parrot fabric is beautiful, most of the times I have to match print pn fabric I just gave up and do it in plain fabric. I find it takes too much of my mental strength 🙂 . Thank for the giveaway !

    Like

Leave a Reply

