Darling Doris – the latest release from Sew Over It, and a giveaway!

Sew Over It Doris 5

Sew Over It Doris 1

It’s no secret around here that I’m a bit of a Sew Over It fan-girl, so when I was asked to test their latest release, the fabulous Doris dress, I was all over it in the flashiest of flashes. Doris is sweet and simple, but with small details that make it versatile – its very simplicity means fabric choice could easily oomph it up or dress it down. Its two variations both feature kimono sleeves, front and back pleats, a concealed zip and front button opening, but you can then choose between a tie back or a small buttoned-on belt, and two different lengths.

Sew Over It Doris 4

I opted to make Doris in this luxury pink-coral crepe from Sew Over It and mmm, it was good stuff to work with. Suggested fabrics range from lightweight cottons to drapier rayons and crepes; I think a cotton would play up its day-dress feel but this crepe, the longer length and the glass buttons make my version pleasingly dressy. Although I opted to make the longer length I am a shortie so shaved a few inches off to bring it to my knee. To the bodice (size 10), however, I made zero adjustments.

The belt options mean you can fit the dress as closely as you desire around the waist. Obviously I went for the tie back – I cannot resist a bow…

DSC_0477

Sew Over It Doris 2
The most relaxed I’ve ever looked whilst a) posing in public, and b) freezing to death.

Doris is classed as an intermediate sew, but honestly I think it’s something a confident beginner could happily tackle with care, patience and a concealed zipper foot. There’s no actual need for buttonholes (woop!) as the zip takes care of opening up the dress, so you can do as I’ve done and sew the buttons through both layers.

DSC_0476

doris street

DSC_0480

Sew Over It Doris 3

And now for the exciting news – I have one copy of the printed Doris pattern to give away! If you’d like to be in with a chance of receiving it just leave a comment below with your contact details (blog or email address) before midnight GMT Saturday 30 April. The winner will be picked at random and announced on Sunday and then the pattern will be posted out in the week, just in time for to join your spring/summer sewing schemes!

Product Image

Good luck! x

 

39 thoughts on “Darling Doris – the latest release from Sew Over It, and a giveaway!

  1. I’m such a Sew Over It keeno I would LOVE to win the pattern. I can already see at least 3 of the Doris dress in my mental wardrobe. Pick meeeeeee! (Please 🙂 ) xx Becca

    Rkblogg at gmail dot com

    Like

  2. I’ve been eyeing up the pattern and I have just received the coral crepe from SOI to make a shift dress I am glad it is easy to work with

    Like

  3. Sew Over It have a knack for making absolutely perfect patterns – I’ve see so many great vintage shirt dresses. Doris looks like another winner from everything I’ve seen thus far. Love the colour you chose too 🙂

    Like

  4. Would love to win this fab pattern (love your choice of fabric)… I’ve already got my eye on some yellow and blue floral viscose to make this with 🙂 !!!

    lmamuggleton at googlemail dot com

    Like

  5. Lovely stuff, Nina!

    Might as well throw my hat into the ring, since I’ve just bought a new sewing machine… Leah dot Holroyd at outlook dot com

    (Talking of hats, I heard a great joke at quiz night recently:

    What does a milliner make?

    Less than a billiner.)

    Like

  6. It looks to be a fab pattern. I’d love to be entered into the draw.
    Thanks. Email to follow if chosen
    I’m waryoif publishing it publicly

    Like

  7. I love your version, it’s so summery and fresh. Thank you for the chance to win a pattern, I’ve been eyeing it since it came out. I’m at umacrafterportuguesacomcerteza.wordpress.com

    Like

  8. Beautiful dress! I’m a big Sew Over It fan too, so thanks very much for the chance to win the pattern.
    Email: aghorsley at gmail dot com

    Like

  9. Gosh, I absolutely adore your Doris Dress!!! It would be fantastic to win a copy of this beautiful pattern 🙂

    carochristof at web dot de

    Like

Leave a Reply

