Rise vs Fall – battle of the Papercut turtlenecks

The end of winter might seem an odd time to embark on a turtleneck-making spree, but with snow battering our northern counties and the odd flake even drifting as far south as London, it’s too soon to be abandoning our warmer wears. But at the same time, the (brave) daffodils and lengthening days make chunky jumpers seem cumbersome and over-the-top. So a series of warm tops in pretty colours seemed just the ticket, and Papercut’s Rise and Fall Turtleneck just the pattern.

DSC_0656

I was drawn to the Fall Turtleneck because I love me a soft drop shoulder. But the great thing about this pattern is that it’s essentially two tops in one, with the Rise option being a conventionally more fitted polar neck. Fall is quite short whereas Rise is longer. The two tops use completely different sets of pattern pieces. One thing to note – the patterns both require the same amount of fabric no matter the size, 1.3m. Whilst because of the grain of the fabric you can’t really get away with using less, you do end up with a decent amount of leftover jersey – enough to make knickers or possibly even little camis.

At this point I should also mention the wonderful packaging of Papercut patterns – it’s irresistible stuff. With free international shipping it’s really worth splashing a little extra cash for the hard rather than pdf copy. The packaging design is so beautifully thought-through – to be economical with paper the instructions are printed onto the same sheets as the pattern pieces, but can be cut off and made into a little booklet, should you so wish. The entire paper contents come within a delightful card box which can continue to house the pattern pieces/instructions after they are cut. It’s so pleasurable to find creativity has gone into even the seemingly more trivial aspects of a pattern.

  

Anyway, back to the turtlenecks. I’ve made three versions in the past week, and that’s because they’re a speedy dream to sew. My first version was the Fall option, in a medium-weight cotton jersey. I went by the bust sizes and cut a small (there are also extra small and extra extra small), but this was in fact over-generous, and with the rather stiff jersey was too shapeless for me. I re-did the side seams, grading down from the S at the armscye to XXS at the waist, which helped, and I am happy enough with the finished product to put up with feeling a bit 1992.

DSC_0604

DSC_0605

I think Fall could potentially work up nicely in a heavyweight knit (for a chunky jumper effect) but it’s really designed for drapier knits. I purchased two gorgeous viscose jerseys from Fabrics Galore for this very purpose, but one ended up becoming a Rise and the other a Fall, for direct comparison. In case you are interested here are some photos comparing the two. I made the Rise in XXS (next time I’ll grade up to XS in the upper chest) and this Fall version in XS.

Pictures tell a thousand words yadda yadda, so I’ll let these do the talking. Stylewise I’ll just add that I’m not likely to wear the Rise on its own, but think it will be perfect for layering under shifts or loose jumpers.

papercut_rise_fall_turtleneck_3

Fall I’m most likely to wear tucked into trousers, as being short I can look shapeless and overwhelmed by loose tops.

papercut_rise_fall_turtleneck_7

I’ve been down and out with a cold for the past few days so mostly flat-bound; it’s been nice to have something pretty to lounge in when I’m not feeling so pretty myself! In other news I overcame the sense that my throat is three times its normal size to attend a swanky dinner at the Vintners Hall last night. My Cambridge reunion dress saw its second outing but once again we completely failed to take any photographs. I would’ve popped outside to snap some pics but the last time I did that I caught a, well, this, cold. Grrrr, or should it be brrrr…! x

 

 

3 thoughts on “Rise vs Fall – battle of the Papercut turtlenecks

Leave a Reply

