Summer Sewin’ (had me some fun…)

I just picked up a lovely Atelier Brunette cotton from Sew Over It and it’s got me SO excited for summer! Two weeks’ from now I shall be sunning myself in the south of France, and of course being me the two week deadline has inspired a whole raft of new dressmaking projects. Because clearly I don’t have enough to do in that time with a full-time job, three parties, two trips out of London, two visits from my mother and a broken washing machine, non?

IMG_1408

I’ve had my eye on this lovely lawn for a while now as it is the visual embodiment of how I imagine this trip is going to be (blue, white, sea, sun). I’d been thinking of the simplest of sundresses, but then I caught sight of McCalls 6887 as part of Lladybird’s Outfit-Along and I knew I’d found a match made in dress heaven. Not actually having the time to go hunting around real shops for the pattern, I gave into my inner Amazon demon and ordered it online. It’ll take a day or two for that to arrive however so in the interim my summer sewing schedule can be satisfied by cutting up this gorgeous stuff:

Hampton wedding

It’s Hampton Wedding from Liberty’s SS15 lawn range, and in a panic that it might sell out I rushed out to buy it upon release some months ago. I think it makes me happy because subconsciously it reminds me of a tablecloth we had when I was little. It’s, um, very, very bright, and supposedly inspired by the flowers in Disney’s version of Alice in Wonderland. Anyway, I’m planning a fitted (and probably boned) strapless bodice with a three-quarter circle skirt to the knee (which isn’t very far on me) and off-the-shoulder straps/wings. Yeah, I don’t really know how that’s going to work either.

I keep a good chunk of my fabric stash in a beautiful wooden chest at my mother’s house, and some of that stash is coming to meet me in Norwich this weekend, including a lovely pale yellow broderie anglaise bought on Arab Street in Singapore last year. Am probably going to stick with a simple, white-lined shift, but this image caught my eye and although the colour is different, its style is admittedly rather tempting…

yellow-lace-dress-boden

Anyhoo, that was a post about not a lot but some pretty pics, eh?

Leave a Reply

